top of page

About The S & S Award

The S&S Award was one of the UK's most prominent prizes for new musical theatre writing.  It was given in memory of the renowned hoteliers Sidney and Sylvia Brown, who were known affectionately in their lifetimes as "S&S".  The Award was presented to the best new unproduced musical of the year, as judged by a panel of forty-nine international industry luminaries, including Nica Burns of Nimax Theatres, Kent Nicholson of Playwrights Horizons in New York and Nikolai Foster of Leicester Curve.


The S&S Award was presented in conjunction with Leicester Curve.


The Award winners received a week's development retreat with Leicester Curve, with a professional director, cast and musical director, without the pressure of a presentation.  This was followed by a London Industry Showcase at a later date.  The winning writers were formally presented with the Award at an annual gala at London's The Other Palace, in front of a stellar audience.  Presenters included Michael Ball, Don Black, Nigel Harman and Janie Dee.


                                                                               Award History

In 2011 the playwright/lyricist Warner Brown and his mother Sylvia inaugurated The Sidney Brown Memorial Award in honour of the late Sidney Brown, father and husband to them both respectively. They were supported in this both practically and inspirationally by literary agent Caroline Underwood and theatre producer Neil Marcus. Sadly Sylvia died in February 2013 and Warner and Caroline re-launched the award as The S&S Award, now commemorating both Sidney and Sylvia.


bottom of page